About Us
Current Location:homepage  About Us  Introduction to the School

Harbin Institute of Technology (http://www.hit.edu.cn), which is attached to the Ministry of Industry and Information, is a national key university jointly sponsored by the Ministry of Industry and Information, the Ministry of Education and Heilongjiang Province. It was among the first group of universities included in “Project 211” and “Project 985”. The School of Energy Science and Engineering (http://power.hit.edu.cn) was established in 1994, which was formerly known as the Department of Power Engineering of HIT. This department, which was founded in 1954, was one of the earliest department in the discipline of power engineering in China. The school has two departments including the Department of Energy and Environmental Engineering and the Department of Flight Vehicle Propulsion and Fluid Power and three undergraduate specialties including Energy and Power Engineering, Air Vehicle Power Engineering and Nuclear Engineering, and Nuclear Technology. Among them, The specialty of Energy and Power Engineering consists of four professional directions, which are Thermal Energy Engineering, Thermal Engines, Air Conditioning and Refrigeration, and Fluid Power Machinery. The Power Engineering and Engineering Thermophysics in the school is the national first-class key discipline as well as the national key discipline of “Project 211” and “Project 985”, which confers doctoral degrees as a primary discipline. There is also a post-doctoral station, which has six secondary disciplines which also confers doctoral degrees: Engineering Thermophysics, Thermal Power Engineering, Power Machinery and Engineering, Fluid Machinery and Engineering, Refrigeration and Cryogenic Engineering, and Chemical Processing Machinery.

In addition, the School of Energy Science and Engineering also has of the following national, provincial and ministerial teaching and scientific research bases:

one national engineering laboratory: National Engineering Laboratory of Coal-fired Pollutants Emission Reduction

one national teaching base: National Mechanics Teaching Base of Fundamental Engineering Courses (Fluid Mechanics)

one national teaching demonstration center: National Mechanics Experimental Teaching Demonstration Center (Fluid Mechanics)

one key specialty with the support of State Commission of Science and Technology for National Defense Industry: Thermal Power Engineering

one specialty with an orientation towards national defense: Flight Vehicle Propulsion Engineering

one specialty of rare value to national defense: Engineering of Nuclear Reactors

one key discipline of national defense: Aerospace Thermophysics

three provincial key laboratories: Engine Gas Power Laboratory, Power Machinery and Engineering Laboratory, and Energy and Environmental Engineering Laboratory

one provincial research center of engineering technology: Research Center of Coal-fired Pollution Control Engineering Technology.

The school possesses a vibrant teaching and scientific research team with active academic ideas and innovative thinking. There are 87 teachers and staff, including 37 professors, 26 associate professors and 37 doctoral supervisors. There are two academicians of Chinese Academy of Engineering, three winners of the National Science Fund for Distinguished Young Scholars, one expert of the National High-tech R&D Program (863 Program), and nine specialists included in the Program for New Century Excellent Talents of the Ministry of Education. There is a national-level teaching team, an innovation team appointed by the Ministry of Education, an innovation group supported by National Natural Science Foundation of China.

The school has developed a perfect teaching system in the training of undergraduates, master’s and doctoral students, thus cultivating a large number of dedicated and innovative talents. The graduates includes nine academicians of Chinese Academy of Sciences or Chinese Academy of engineering, a number of specialists serving in the leading positions of the State, ministries and commissions, provinces and cities, one graduate who waselected as the 50 Prominent Chinese Entrepreneurs and three winners of the annual National Award of One Hundred Excellent Doctoral Dissertations.

With an eye to meeting national demands, the school has initiated researches in the following major fields: large power generators, clean combustion and air pollution control, new and renewable energy, senior physical cryogenic system, CBERS-01/FY-3 satellites, three-dimensional flow field structure control and optimization of turbomachinery flow passage, aerospace turbojet and turbofan engines, missile engines, power plants for ships, hydro-electric generating set, aerial refueling systems of aircrafts, hydraulic transmission systems of tanks/self-propelled guns/missile tractors, self-adaptive control for large petrochemical production units, etc. Our research initiatives have been awarded with a large number of prizes: one Grand Prize of National Excellent Teaching Achievements, two Second Prizes of National Natural Science, two Second Prizes of National Scientific and Technological Inventions, four Second Prizes of National Scientific and Technological Progress, three Third Prizes of National Scientific and Technological Progress and one Fourth Prize of National Natural Science.

In order to continue to expand its research fields and to promote world-level researches, the school has been dedicated to long-term academic exchanges, technological cooperation and joint-degree programs together with such countries as the United States, the United Kingdom, France, Russia, Canada, Belgium, Netherlands, Japan, Australia and Korea.